Apple Productivity

After 4 Years, Apple has Driven me Back to the Mac

I shocked myself at how quickly I dropped the iPad as my main production platform

Will J Murphy
Mac O’Clock
Published in
10 min readDec 1, 2023

--

Mac mini M2 Pro (photo by author) A Mac mini sitting on a wooden desk. The top rows of a mechanical keyboard are visible in the foreground.
Mac mini M2 Pro (photo by author)

Why wouldn’t you want to make an iPad a central part of your daily workflow? It’s compact with a robust operating system, designed from the start to be secure.

It has all the bells and whistles: face and finger ID, not to mention three variants of Apple Pencil for note-taking and sketching. The screens are all beautiful.

Of course, the majority of people use iPads to consume content, not create it — with good reason. That seems to have been Apple’s original intent for the product. It’s optimised for consumption. You can’t even write iPad apps on an iPad.

From the start, however, I wanted to use it to create content anyway, or tried to. An iMac 27” did the heavy lifting for a long time, but as the years passed, I could do more and more on the iPad. That made me want to do even more.

I made the iPad my production platform in 2019. Mouse support and the 12.9” iPad Pro made that viable. And, of course, some amazing 3rd party app developers.

A few weeks ago, I was happy.

--

--