AirPods 1 in 2020 | Still worth it?

David Paris
Mac O’Clock
Published in
4 min readMay 25, 2020

At this point you probably know someone that owns a pair of AirPods or maybe even their cheap knock-off version. If you’re thinking of getting yourself wireless headphones but can’t decide if you should get Apple’s original AirPods, their identical but more expensive twin AirPods 2 or invest in 280€ (305USD) AirPods Pro, you’ll find the answer right here.

I’ve managed to resist buying the AirPods for a long time since they came out but I’ve finally decided to purchase them in March of 2020. Apple no longer sells the original AirPods 1 on their website but I still got them from their verified reseller for 175€ (190USD). Yes I could have got the AirPods 2 with wireless charging case for 195€ (212USD) but I’ve decided to stick with the original ones.

When I'’ve opened them I was impressed by the setup process. You just have to open the charging case near your iPhone and they automatically connect and pair with your device. If you have more Apple products you can expect great performance and communication between them because Apple’s ecosystem is one of the best in the tech industry. Once you pair them with your phone you won’t have to pair them again with other devices with the same Apple ID because they’ll automatically appear in the Bluetooth settings.

Until I’ve got the AirPods I was using Apple’s classic EarPods that come in the box with your phone so my ears were used to that headphone shape and after a while I have them in my ears I forget that they are there. Honestly, I have never had problems with them falling out or not staying in my ears even while doing sports activities.

As far as the sound quality, I must say it’s great. The bass sounds amazing and you can fully enjoy your favorite song or podcast even in quite loud places although they don’t have noise cancellation as the AirPods Pro. However, I must say that I feel like the sound gets lower overtime (or maybe I’m just losing my hearing).

The battery life is pretty good as well. I usually get about 4 hours of listening time but I must say it’s not that amazing on calls, on which I often get just 2 hours of battery life. It’s because while calling you’re not using only the speakers but the microphones as well, and the AirPods have a smart feature of switching from one microphone to another for the best audio experience. The best thing about the battery is that they charge super fast. After 20 minutes of being in the case, you have 100% full battery again. The case requires usually just one charging a week.

So do I recommend you getting the original AirPods 1? If you want to save some money and you don’t care about wireless charging or noise cancellation then definitely YES. They are great, compact, sleek and reliable headphones that will make your life better and easier.

Thank you so much for reading my article, I hope you found it helpful or entertaining in any kind of way. I would be grateful for any kind of feedback from you. Make sure to share it with your friends and contact me for any other questions.

Bye.
David Paris

--

--

David Paris
Mac O’Clock

twitch affiliate, tech, apple, coffee... student from a small country with big dreams :)