AirPods Pro Made Me Smile: Here’s Why You’ll Smile Too!

Nathan Scarbrough
Mac O’Clock
Published in
3 min readMay 12, 2020

Tell me if this situation sounds familiar to you. You’re sitting in a public area, and you’re trying to focus. It doesn’t matter if it’s for work, for school, or for self. You’re trying to focus but the person next to you has their phone on loud. Each notification is audible, every stroke of their keyboard makes a rather annoying clicking sound, and they laugh or comment at everything that lights up their screen. Of course, we are happy they are living their best life, but it’s at our expense. You just want silence, but noise-canceling headphones are too cumbersome to fit in your day bag. Well, I’m happy to tell you that Apple has a solution for you!

Over the course of my life, I have had the opportunity to review a lot of tech products. For the most part, I look for the positives in whatever I am reviewing. Not only does it prevent buyers remorse, but it’s also nice to see the glass half full. In the last few years, this has been increasingly easy to do because technology is becoming so sophisticated. However, as tech becomes better and better, one thing proves more difficult: impressing the consumer… When everything does exactly what it’s supposed to do, we forget that countless hours of research, development, and fine-tuning went into that product. We forget to think about just how far we have come and how thankful we should be for the innovations bestowed upon us. Though, every once in a while a product comes along that is so great, it makes you remember how incredible our world truly is. This is exactly what happened to me when I first tried the AirPods Pro.

I know I’m late to the party, but I bought AirPods Pro last week. I was mostly excited because I wanted to compare them to AirPods and PowerBeats Pro, but nothing could have prepared me for what happened when I unboxed the little things. In classic Apple fashion, the unboxing experience is silky smooth. After delicately removing the plastic, you then watch the box slowly separate. When the box is opened and your AirPods Pro are sitting there waiting, you pick them up, flip open the case, and BOOM: you’re already connected. Although magical, this isn’t the main attraction. You get the same experience in the aforementioned AirPods and PowerBeats. The AirPods Pro, however, does something vastly superior.

Specifically, these things are pre-set to noise cancellation mode. When I tell you that the noise cancellation blew me away, I mean it is unreal for a pair of earbuds this small. I unboxed these as I was sitting in my room with the TV going, the air conditioner on, and the fan rolling. Nothing too distracting, but there was decent noise nonetheless. However, as soon as the Pros went in my ear, it all stopped. It was so good that I genuinely thought that the power went out in my house for a brief moment. That’s when I realized that the TV was still on, I just couldn’t hear anything. I took the AirPods out, realized just how loud everything around me was, and I laughed. Amazingly, it was the first time a tech product has truly made me smile like this in years. Apple absolutely deserves a tip of the hat for that one.

I have a full-fledged review on the way for the AirPods Pro, but I decided I had to share this little (yet important) detail with you. From initial use, I can tell you that it is absolutely blissful using these things. There absolutely might be better noise-canceling earbuds out there, but nothing compares to the simplicity and joy of using products in the Apple Ecosystem. I smile every time I put them in, and I know you will too. Just do yourself a favor and be in a noisy environment the first time you try them!

--

--