Apple Arcade Sonic Racing Review

Buttonswithtea
Mac O’Clock
4 min readAug 17, 2020

--

This game definitely gives you that Sonic Nestalga that we all missed from the original Sonic Games. I played Sonic first on Sega CD when I was about 9 years old, and I thought it was the coolest thing ever, at the time. Sonic is just a fun game. It’s always fun, and it’s an even more fun way to kill time, before a board meeting, during a lunch break, or waiting in line. Racing, in general, seems to be popular with people who are competitive and like to win. I know that videos games, for me, always gave me a win before I really had any good friends. I imagine that if online gaming even existed when I was little I would have been that online gamer with 1,000 friends, just like my son is now.

I feel like I missed out on so much as a child because the technology just wasn't there yet. Adults and kids can experience this game with fantastic graphics and immersive racing that really puts you in the driver's seat. I played Sonic Racing on my IPad and I’m not going to lie, it wasn’t easy.

Right from the beginning, I kept crashing into the walls over and over again. You just have to turn your wheel when you hit a turn (just right) and when you are going straight you just have to release the wheel and just let Sonic just drive himself.

Knowing nothing about Sonic or how Sonic began before, the Sonic movie was something my son enjoyed and is now enjoying this Sonic Racing game on Apple Arcade as well. My son is a true gamer, as am I, but he always adapts to a new game with ease. As he once explained to me,“…all games are the same when it comes to movement, you just have to put those movements into your mussel memory and you’ll start winning every time.

It took me 30 minutes to get the flow of Sonic Racing, but then again I was playing on my IPad which might be working against me unless I’m missing something. The bright colors and choices of roads are fun. I like being able to choose where I’m racing so that you get a variety of scenery. If you could control the speed that would be fun too but I understand that the game needs to be more basic since it’s an arcade game. I just don’t know how long the game would entertain me because I don’t feel that it challenges my mind enough.

After playing this game for a while it just further confirms that even though I do like linear games I still need some sort of a challenge. There are tons of gamers that will play a game to the end and then play again to go back and gain more points as well as to collect all the trophies and hidden objects. I’m more of an I just want to make it to the end, in the easiest way possible. If a game is too challenging where I just don’t understand anything, then that’s a deterrent as well. So for me, there has to be that balance. I just want a calm game where I can go at my own pace.

Sonic Racing is a fun (break time) or (need to kill time) time of playing that’s enjoyable but not mentally challenging once you learn how to balance the car. This game is for those gaming racers out there that love the thrill of the race and love TO WIN. It’s fun, but I’m not sure how often I will be playing it.

As always, thanks for reading, and I’ll see you in the next one!

--

--

Buttonswithtea
Mac O’Clock

I write fictional “short stories,” “scripts,” and “real life blogs”. I look forward to your responses, and enjoy having an audience to write for every day.