Apple Arcade’s Where Cards Fall Review

Buttonswithtea
Mac O’Clock

--

Where Cards Fall is an enticing game. When it comes to gaming as well as cartoons, I have always felt that need to be drawn in immediately. That ALWAYS has to do with the way the animation looks as well as the actions that take place right from the beginning. Anyone who knows me knows that I love 3rd Person Linear games so Where Cards Fall is almost like that. It is linear which I appreciate but the view is more of an aerial view with smaller characters which makes me feel more removed from the action.

The music and scenery are that of a very calming nature with real-life wind and worry I would say. In between the steps or chapters of the game you get to see into your characters life, what their motivations and fears are, as well as their general state of mind. In that respect, I feel the emotion behind it is sad. The character doesn’t seem to be a happy person and they live more of a lonely life, but they're still just trying to make it through and choose the right path.

With that, I feel as though it’s up to you to get the person through their life and to their eventual happiness. I don’t know what the ultimate outcome actually is in this game but it does seem to have this calming factor or bring you into this melancholy state depending on how you look at it.

If you’re the type of person who loves a good puzzle than you will love this game. Puzzle-wise it’s a true adventure of your brain to figure out how to place the cards correctly to get your person through. When I started the game it got frustrating because I had a hard time telling my brain that the cards don’t just open 5 Cards Flat, they can stretch out to be as big as the space is, in its interiority. At first, you believe that there are limits and there aren’t. Once you force your brain to see the steps a certain way, you will get through a chapter quickly. It is very satisfying to see the little person has reached their destination each time you figure it out. “YES! Yes, I did it!” is how you feel every time.

There is something about puzzle games that’s so satisfying to do if the game is easy enough for you to get through each chapter while giving you just the right amount of struggle, which I believe is the greatest part of why this game works. This is only the second arcade game that I have played and experienced. It has made me very happy to know that Apple has created such an array of entertainment that you can use to pass the time, relax, or just have fun, and remove yourself from your life as games tend to do when they are REALLY GOOD. Any great game has the power to really draw you into a new world and make YOU a part of it. Where Cards Fall is that type of game, and this is only day one. I will return for more on day 2 of playing this game.

But let me know what your thoughts are about this game. Have you tried it? Do you like it, or dislike it, and what makes you feel that way?

As always, thanks for reading, and I’ll see you in the next one!

--

--

Buttonswithtea
Mac O’Clock

I write fictional “short stories,” “scripts,” and “real life blogs”. I look forward to your responses, and enjoy having an audience to write for every day.