Apple M1 Pro vs M1 Max — How to Choose

Apple doesn’t make this easy. Let me help.

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock

--

Image courtesy of author

November can’t come soon enough.

That’s when I’ll get my hands on my brand-new 16" MacBook Pro, complete with M1 Max chip, loads of graphics cores, and, finally, an SD card slot!

However, I’m not convinced that Apple is making it particularly easy to choose between these two new chips. The numbers attached to the M1 Pro and the M1 Max indicate that they are, clearly, rather different animals.

But how do you know which one is right for you?

As always, I can’t answer this question for you, because everyone’s use case, budget, and priorities differ, but I can furnish you with some details that’ll help you spend the right kind of money.

M1 Pro vs M1 Max: the similarities

The M1 Pro and M1 Max share some common features. They’re also available in their full range of spec options on both the 14-inch and 16-inch versions of the new MacBook Pro. Which is nice.

--

--

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock

Tech reviewer. Join my newsletter list for a weekly behind-the-scenes video of a tech content creator! ⬇️ https://markellisreviews.ck.page/newsletter