MAC DISPLAYS

Apple Studio Display Review: The Wait Is Over

First impressions after upgrading from a 4K monitor

Dan Hansen
Mac O’Clock
Published in
6 min readMar 20, 2022

--

Apple Studio Display
Image courtesy of author

I’ve been waiting for Apple to launch a new consumer-grade monitor ever since my Thunderbolt Display stopped working five years ago (Apple discontinued the Thunderbolt Display in June 2016). So I wasted no time, gifting myself Apple’s new Studio Display just minutes after it was announced during the company’s Peek Performance event on March 8th. Some might consider it an extravagance, but with most of my waking hours spent in front of a computer, I consider it money well spent. So I was more than a little excited when this arrived on my front stoop today:

Joy cometh in the morning

Design

The industrial design of Apple’s Thunderbolt Display featured gentle curves, as did iMacs going as far back as 2004’s iMac G5. So it was a bit jarring when Apple launched the Pro Display XDR in 2019 with its angular industrial design (TechRadar described it as “brutalist”). Fortunately, with over two years to grow accustomed to Apple’s updated design language, I prefer the Studio Display’s slimmed-down aesthetic over the classic beauty of my old Thunderbolt…

--

--