Apple Vision Pro: I Like This Strategy

Jonathan Kim
Mac O’Clock
Published in
12 min readJun 20, 2023

--

Everything, including the price, is on another level

(image by Apple)

Ever since Apple’s WWDC 2023 keynote, friends have been asking me what I think of Apple Vision Pro, the company’s newly announced AR/VR goggles that will be available in early 2024. While the product itself seems impressive, with an impressively high $3,500 price to match, what I find perhaps the most fascinating about it is the strategy behind it that has been revealed now that the long-rumored and speculated-on headset has finally been unveiled. It’s such an Apple-y strategy that plays so much to the company’s unique strengths, abilities, identity, and culture that it seems to have left a lot of tech journalists, pundits, and tech enthusiasts confused about even basic questions surrounding the headset. So I thought I’d share what I saw when Apple revealed its first new product category and platform in nearly a decade.

What’s It For?

The Vision Pro could replace an office or a home theater (image by Apple)

Apple’s answer to this seems fairly simple: work and watching stuff. Or, more accurately, as a replacement/mobile version of a home office and a home theater. Yes, I know Apple spent time talking about taking FaceTime calls, playing games, and even taking 3D photos and…

--

--

Jonathan Kim
Mac O’Clock

Used to be a film critic, now writes about tech (mostly Apple), and sometimes woodworking