Apple’s (Hidden) Authenticator App

Google and Microsoft killed my inner minimalist

Nikhil Vemu
Mac O’Clock
Published in
3 min readFeb 2, 2022

--

Apple logo shaped as a lock depicting privacy
Image from Apple

Hands-down, you already know what authenticator apps are, and what they do. When I asked my Apple pals to list few such apps, they said:

  • Google Authenticator,
  • Microsoft Authenticator.

That's it. The rare few said Salesforce Authenticator though.

Almost everyone had those third-party apps installed in their iPhones for rapidly changing 2-FA codes that give extra security for their accounts.

“We’re sacrificing minimalism”, they told me.

I asked them why they had to. “You guys have the in-built ‘Apple Authenticator’ right?”

“Wha-a-t? Apple Authenticator?”. They began searching the App Store for it, but none could find it.

“Don’t search. It’s there in the Keychain.”, I stopped them.

I explained them how to set up like this.

For example, say Google

Make sure you already have your Google account password saved in iCloud Keychain.

  • Go to any Google-owned website.
  • Click on your profile picture on the top-right corner, and then on ’Manage your

--

--