Can an iPad Replace a Laptop?

It’s not a simple answer…

Dom Kwolczak
Mac O’Clock

--

Image created with DALL-E

With Apple releasing two new iPad models this week, there is a lot of talk about iPads, and rightly so. But I wanted to address a question that a close friend asked.

Can an iPad replace a laptop?

I think that that is a brilliant question, especially as many people will be thinking about either upgrading their current iPad or buying a new one, with the new ones being out.

I’m a big fan of the iPad, I don’t have the latest model, but that doesn’t really matter as it provides immense value to my everyday life, especially when it comes to writing blog posts like this.

But would I use it as a replacement for my MacBook?

To answer that question, I want to start this article by sharing my experience with using my 11-inch iPad Pro from 2020 as my main device.

Why my iPad became my main device

I initially purchased my iPad Pro for university. The aim was to use it as my main device for research and note-taking.

I started with a base model iPad and 1st generation Apple Pencil during my early years at university, but when I went on to do my master’s degree, I decided to upgrade to an iPad Pro and a 2nd generation Apple Pencil.

--

--

Dom Kwolczak
Mac O’Clock

I'm Dom, a tech and productivity enthusiast living in the UK. I share stories about my experience with tech, reviews, tips and more. www.beacons.ai/techwithdom