CleanMyMac X Review: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Is It Worth the Purchase?

Charlie Levine
Mac O’Clock

--

Screenshot by Author

BACKSTORY

My CleanMyMac X journey began about a month ago when I needed extra storage space on my 2015 Macbook Pro. I have had that thing for over five years and I had accumulated many files and applications on it by that point. Between all my games, photos, school projects, and then a major programming project I had been working on, my computer’s storage was at its limit.

I had long withheld from purchasing a solution to my storage problem, stoically enduring the constant alerts from my laptop that I had no storage.

Mind you; this problem persisted even with the upgraded 99¢/month 50 GB iCloud storage plan.

If you have a 128 GB Mac, did you have to purchase an iCloud storage upgrade or seek a Mac cleaner? Please let me know in the comments! 💬

For the programming project I had been working on, I needed to upgrade XCode because the people wanted an iPhone app.

When I tried to upgrade, well, I couldn’t, and after scouring the internet asking why, I found that I possibly needed a whopping 50 GB of storage to do the upgrade. At this point, I knew I had to turn to CleanMyMacX.

REVIEW

Effectiveness

--

--