Ditch Spotlight for Alfred 4 to Be More Productive

appsntips
Mac O’Clock
Published in
6 min readMay 13, 2020

--

Having used macOS for years now, I can confidently say that every Mac user should switch to Alfred. When I first switch to Mac from Windows, one thing that I instantly fell in love with was Spotlight. The ability to launch apps, find files, check the weather, spell words, get definitions, and more, with just a simple keyboard command was something I never experienced before. However, I kept hearing about Alfred whenever anyone was discussing productivity apps for Mac.

Initially, I didn’t pay heed to these discussions as I was happy with Spotlight. I didn’t think Alfred was offering enough to justify the price and the learning curve that comes with the app. But as I started getting comfortable with macOS and wanted to improve my workflow, the concept of using Alfred made more and more sense. And after about two years of using Alfred regularly, I can happily report that every Mac user who wants to save time, should switch to Alfred. Here are my reasons:

Replace Spotlight with Alfred

Getting started with Alfred 4 is easy. The app is free to download and use for perpetuity. You don’t have to deal with ads. You can do almost all the things that you do with Spotlight with Alfred without paying a penny. That said, the true power of Alfred is unlocked when you buy the Power Pack, the enables a…

--

--