Do I Miss the iPhone?

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock
Published in
6 min readMay 6, 2024

--

The answer has surprised me

Image courtesy of author

I’m playing with fire. People know me as the iPhone guy. I’m that bloke from the UK who has made eleventy fourteen videos about how brilliant the iPhone 13 mini is/was.

I’ve defected. Gone over to ‘the dark side’. My iPhone 15 Pro Max currently resides, switched off, in the smartphone drawer at my studio.

I’ve not used it for weeks.

I switched to the Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra because I needed to put my money where my mouth is. I kept referring to it as the best smartphone I’ve ever used — how could I not make it my daily driver?

The question I’ve been asking myself consistently since making the leap into Android Land is: do I actually miss the iPhone? Am I pining for it? Are there moments throughout the day when I wish it was still by my side?

As it turns out, yes, I do miss it. A little bit.

The stuff I miss

I don’t miss the Natural Titanium finish on my iPhone 15 Pro Max. I don’t miss the ultra reliable, get-it-done camera system. I couldn’t give two hoots about the absence of the Dynamic Island in my life. The Action Button? I’d genuinely forgotten it existed until I wrote it down then.

--

--

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock

Tech reviewer. Join my newsletter list for a weekly behind-the-scenes video of a tech content creator! ⬇️ https://markellisreviews.ck.page/newsletter