Do Not Sell Your Mac on Facebook Marketplace

Facebook Marketplace is great for antiques and furniture but hell for high-profile electronics.

Brad LaPlante
Mac O’Clock

--

Macworld

I know it’s cool to hate Facebook now, and I sure do love to.

My MacBook Pro is the best computer I’ve ever owned. But with the release of the 2020 iPad Pro, the device has become my go-to for mobile. It’s light, easy to open and access, touch-screen and has the ever-so-amazing $300 Magic Keyboard (which I own for some reason). It’s a multi-tasking monster.

So it’s time to say goodbye to my 2017 MacBook Pro with an Intel i5 in favor of a 2020 M1 Mac mini desktop computer.

I went to www.apple.com to find out that my MacBook Pro was worth $415 in Apple credit (at least, according to Apple) and the average selling price on eBay was $690 for my 13-inch laptop. So I listed it on both eBay as an auction, and on Facebook Marketplace.

Earlier this year I tried posting my MacBook for sale on just eBay. I gave it an auction and a “Buy Now” option. Less than a day after publishing my listing I received a message on eBay’s super user-friendly messaging UI — can you smell the sarcasm? The user told me he wanted to purchase my MacBook so I was like “ok great!”

--

--