APPLE SILICON

Does the 16GB M1 MacBook Air Outperform the 8GB M1 Mac Mini?

After a year with the 8GB M1 Mac mini, I tested out the 16GB memory upgrade on an M1 MacBook Air

Dan Hansen
Mac O’Clock
Published in
4 min readOct 23, 2021

--

M1 MacBook Air
Running Khroma in the simulator | Image courtesy of author

Like many of you, I spent the last few months waiting for Apple to launch new MacBook Pros (with some of us waiting quite a bit longer). And while the updated laptops delivered all of the long-rumored features, the 14-inch model I had my eye on was revealed to weigh 3.5 pounds, half a pound heavier than the 2016 MacBook Pro I’ve been using for the last five years. As much as I wanted the new MacBook’s performance, ports, and Liquid Retina XDR display, I’ve always prioritized portability ahead of the capabilities provided by Apple’s most powerful laptops.

The only exception came when Apple managed to reduce the 2016 15-inch MacBook Pro to four pounds, which was too hard to pass up. And I still quickly regretted the purchase, returning it for the 13-inch model. Having learned my lesson five years ago, I chose to forgo the 14-inch MacBook Pro. But with a five-hundred-dollar DTK credit expiring at the end of the year, I was still in the market for a laptop upgrade.

During the “Unleashed” event, the M1 Pro’s CPU performance was claimed to be 70 percent faster than the M1 chip and 3.7 times…

--

--