First Impressions of Tana

The app that’s looking to replace Roam, Obsidian and Notion

Simon Theakston
PKM Playbook

--

Image Courtesy of Tana.inc

Like many people interested in today’s technology, I tread a fine line between staying up to date with the software available to me, while also ensuring that I’m not constantly changing my processes and ways of working to incorporate the latest, shiny new app.

When it comes to collecting and managing information, I have a tried and tested process that I rely on on on a daily basis. It’s a process that hasn’t changed for a couple of years and it would take something special for me to consider changing something which has now become a central part of my work of how I operate each day.

Over the last few weeks, though, I’ve been playing around with a new app called Tana which I’ve decided to keep an eye, due to some really interesting features which may be able to strengthen my process at a later date.

What is Tana?

Tana is a new note-taking app which entered into a beta phase at the beginning of October. The platform is built in a similar way to Roam Research in as far as it is nodular based and allows the bi-directional linking capabilities that you find in many of today’s note-taking apps such as Obsidian and Craft.

--

--

Simon Theakston
PKM Playbook

I write about the skills, growth and businesses that I'm building. And the technology that is supporting me in getting there.