First Weekend with the iPhone 13 Pro Max

Size. Display. Cameras. And More.

Noah Johnson
Mac O’Clock

--

Photo by Jeremy Bezanger on Unsplash

I got my pre-order for the iPhone 13 Pro Max on Friday, and I was excited to finally have a phone upgrade. I have been using an iPhone XS for the past three years and loved that phone, but wanted an update. Here are some of my first thoughts on the new phone and the 13 lineup as a whole.

Size

The iPhone 13 Pro Max is big. Very big. Especially when I pick up my wife’s iPhone 12 mini and then switch back to mine, there is a huge difference between the two. That being said, I am not convinced that it is too big. I also have hands that are much larger than average, being a 6 foot 8 former basketball players. If you want a big phone, though, the Pro Max definitely is what you are looking for.

Display

I am not the type of person who has been disappointed that Apple has not come out with a 120 Hz before now, but now that I have a phone with the high refresh rate, I can see where they were coming from. This display, in addition to being big, is beautiful! The animations and scrolling is so smooth. The contrast and brightness are incredible.

The smaller notch is noticeable, though they have not done much to capitalize on that extra space with the clock, battery, or other indicators. This could…

--

--

Noah Johnson
Mac O’Clock

Technology enthusiast who is passionate about educating people on tools, practices, and systems that enable efficient workflows and joyful lives.