Forgot Your Passcode on Your iPad, iPod or iPhone? Here’s What You Can Do

Qamarul Ashraf
Mac O’Clock
Published in
2 min readJun 19, 2020

This just happened to me just now where I found my old iPhone laying around when I tried to unlock it, I actually forgot my passcode. After hours and hours of trying to access it, “Connect to iTunes” showed up at the screen.

Screenshot of a disable iPhone

Here’s is the steps of what you can do to unlock it (assuming you backed up with iCloud):

  1. Make sure both devices (your old iDevice & current iDevice) are connected to the internet.
  2. Open an application called ‘Find My’ or go to iCloud.com on your favourite browser.
  3. Click on the iPhone that you want to unlock.
Screenshot inside the ‘Find My’ App

4. Click ‘Erase This Device’.

5. Your iPhone, iPod or iPad will be fully restored as normal.

Summary: I encourage to all Apple’s user out there to connect your iDevices to the same Apple ID. Try not to use a different Apple ID to avoid problems in the future. In my opinion, this is a better way than trying to remember your old password.

--

--