How to Get Safari or Firefox Like Download Manager on Google Chrome

appsntips
Mac O’Clock
Published in
4 min readMay 19, 2020

--

How to Get Safari or Firefox Like Download Manager on Google Chrome

Let me start by saying that you should not be using Google Chrome on your Mac if you care about battery life and performance. Google Chrome chugs battery on Macs like a junkie that just got its fix. It also tracks your every move and shares your data (as per Google, the data is anonymized) for ads targeting. But as much as Safari has improved over the years, it still lags behind Chrome in some areas. The biggest being the extension support. After Apple moved to Safari 12, it killed the existing extension library. The act destroyed the already anemic extension library. Over the past few months, developers have released extensions for Safari, and you can find the popular ones here. But, it’s still nowhere as good as Chrome’s library.

So, whether I like or not, there are times when I have to use Chrome. I make a point to only use Chrome when I am working on my desk or have a charger near-by. That way, I can mitigate its battery hungry behavior. And most of my work involves writing, so I don’t have a performance problem. That being said, one thing I hate about Chrome is its download engine. When you download a file on Chrome, it creates a download bar at the bottom of the screen, and it annoys me to oblivion. I like how Safari and Firefox handle downloads. In this article, I am going to show how you can get a Safari-like download…

--

--