How Apple AirPods Pro help me reduce stress while travelling

Barry Smit
Mac O’Clock
Published in
5 min readJun 6, 2022

--

Photo by Omid Armin on Unsplash

Unpacking the Apple AirPods is an experience

So how did I end up buying a new pair of Apple AirPods Pro? It started with my better half starting a new job, which required a bit more travelling time than she was used to, and as a technologist and minimalist, who only applies minimalism to my own life, I decided that she needed the new pair of Apple AirPods. So without really consulting her, I brought her the Pro version, because of course they have to be the best.

I must admit, while shopping I did not pay too much attention to all of the marketing material, I just thought they were so cool, and I liked the MagSafe charging case idea. So we got a pair. Notice how the ‘she’ changed to a ‘we’ once ‘I’ took them out of the box.

When you take these little guys out of the perfectly wrapped and beautifully designed box and slowly pull them out of the shiny case, you start to get excited. You play with the earbud sizes and you get to a point where you finally figure out the difference between Left and Right stumbling like you have never used headphones before. Finally, you plug them into your ears, followed by, silence.

Nothing but complete silence. The factory settings on the AirPods have the Noise Cancellation feature turned on by default…

--

--