How good is KDE connect on iPhone?

Dhanush
Mac O’Clock
Published in
4 min readNov 5, 2021

--

Spoiler: It is awesome.

For users like me, who use Windows and iPhone, sharing files has always been a pain. You’d have to use iTunes or some crappy 3rd party app to transfer files between them. SHAREit worked fine as long as it was available in the App store. But after its ban by the Indian government, I had found no app or software that was reliable enough to share files. Enter KDE connect.

What is KDE Connect?

An open-source software, KDE connect lets your devices communicate and share files with each other. It is available on all major platforms, so you can use this to communicate between your different devices. I am using Windows 11 on my Laptop and iOS 15 on my iPhone. With KDE connect, I can now control my Windows laptop, share all kinds of files, and much more.

How to get it?

This app is not new except on iOS. It is available for Linux, Windows, Mac OS, and Android. You can get it from the Windows Store, Play Store, or download the source directly from the web as it is open-source software. But only recently this app has been released as a Beta on iOS. Right now, you can only install the beta version of this app through TestFlight on iOS.

Note: Source code of this app is available here.

--

--