How has tech helped you during isolation?

Ben Welham
Mac O’Clock
Published in
2 min readMay 3, 2020

Over the last month or so, I have found myself using tech far more than I otherwise would do. Ever since we went into lockdown here in the UK, it has been a struggle to find things to do. These times of boredom are often spent on the internet which requires tech to use.

I have found myself in an endless cycle between my phone, iPad and Laptop. Whether this is consuming media, calling friends and relatives or playing games. It has been a great way to stay connected. Yes, this is a hard time for all of us, but I think technology has helped drastically.

I came straight home from university last month. This meant I didn’t get a proper chance to say goodbye to the people around me such as my flatmates and girlfriend. I also haven’t been able to see people back home other than the family I live with. While this has been hard, it is nice to be able to stay connected through the power of social media. I won’t go into how amazing social media is but it’s pretty impressive stuff.

I also have relatives all around the world but thanks to technology, I am able to stay in touch with them. But tech has helped me in other ways too. Thankfully, everything I do is online. Banking, schooling (now), media consumption and writing (DriveTribe and FoodTribe). I am very lucky in that respect and really feel for those who don’t have it as easy.

I have also found myself playing more games on my phone which has its downsides too but overall isn’t too bad until I find myself on there for hours on end.

I could go on about all the other things it has helped me with but I would like to hear what you lot are doing during the lockdown and how technology has benefited your lives in this tricky and turbulent time.

--

--

Ben Welham
Mac O’Clock

Just a motoring journalist looking for an outlet to publish a bunch of drivel about cars, tech and watches. https://linktr.ee/bennwelham