How I Get the Most Out of My Low-Cost iPad

Denisa Blackwood
Mac O’Clock
Published in
7 min readJul 14, 2020

--

I am not an over-achiever when it comes to using my electronics. I am certainly not the kind of person who writes artisan, fully illustrated and colourful notes in Notability. I also do not have the willpower to max out any features of the hyper-capable productivity apps available today (Notion comes to mind, a true powerhouse for the motivated user). I am personally much simpler than that, and quite lazy. I like my devices to work for me, not the other way around.

Photo by Leone Venter on Unsplash.

Nevertheless, I still went ahead and purchased a 7th generation iPad (128 GB) while it was on sale for £400. Why on Earth did I do that? As buyer’s remorse started to sink in, I desperately Googled ways to make the most out of this small but powerful device, and came back empty handed. Browsing though endless productivity tutorials and skipping through at least a dozen “What’s on my iPad Pro? (2020)” YouTube videos, I soon realised that there might be no one out there to help me.

At this point I should mention that I could not help buying the Apple Pencil as well. Once you pop, you can’t stop, I suppose. I had these tools (some very pricey tools at that, even if not the priciest out there), what next?

I realised that while I stubbornly use my laptop for work and play, there are some things that are quite awkward to do on my (also low cost) MacBook Pro. I carry…

--

--

Denisa Blackwood
Mac O’Clock

Scientist based in London. I write about tech, science, society and mental health. For collaborations, get in touch at denisa.blackwood [at]protonmail[dot]com