How I teach students on my iPad and earn $1000 a month

Ajay Kumar Arya
4 min readNov 6, 2020

--

If you’re looking for some part time work from home income, then I’ve got just the thing for you! Read on for details…

How much can I earn?

INR 300–1000/$4–13 PER HOUR!

What can I teach online?

Anything!

From academic subjects to extracurricular activities like music or coding.

How qualified should I be?

There is no FORMAL qualification required, but some sort of certifications do help in building credibility with students. On top of that, if your profile looks good, or you have a unique edge over your competitors, you can easily get students.
I personally have a 5 star rating and rank 1 on UrbanPro. On top of that, I am a graduate of the prestigious IIT. So all that helps.

Here’s how my UrbanPro dash looks like:

Where can I get students from?

You should check out UrbanPro.com!

Though there are numerous platforms that promise to provide you student leads, so far I’ve just found this one website that has given me all my business till date!

Download the app here and check it out here for Android and iOS.

Here’s how many student leads I got this year:

Is it worth the investment?

Absolutely! I usually get 10X returns on my investment on the app. Of course, I have to work for that, i.e. teach. But if you have extra time and a PC or iPad, it is worth the extra hours you put in. In fact, if you have the determination and can commit, you can turn it into your full-time profession, just like I did.

You can start off with a monthly investment of as little as INR 500/$7 per month. Start your journey here.

What if I just have a laptop/desktop and not an iPad?

Worry not! You can use an external pen tablet to write on your laptop. I would suggest the Wacom One for the same. Here’s a smaller more affordable version of the same.

Which platform to use?

1. Zoom Cloud Meetings

You can use Zoom Meetings for free. Not only do they provide audio-video connectivity, there is an inbuilt whiteboard also that you can use to teach. There are also options like screen sharing and image sharing that come in handy.

A screenshot of my Zoom whiteboard

2. Microsoft OneNote

You could also use Microsoft OneNote for free and share your screen while writing. You can also share your notebooks with your students on this app. You will need to conncet audio with Zoom or Google Meet though. I am seriously considering this as my default option for teaching. Look at this screenshot from one of my lessons on OneNote:

A screenshot of my OneNote lesson

3. Bitpaper

The basic plan on this platform is free. Personally I use the professional plan as it serves me the best. In this plan, there is around $40 of upfront investment but you get a beautiful and highly functional whiteboard that you can use for as long as you want. Here is a pic of my work here:

A snapshot from one of my lessons on bitpaper

If you need any more info, please comment down below. Also check out this video that I recorded of one of my classes to see how real world online teaching looks like. Hope this helps!

Thank you for making it to the end. Follow me on Medium for more such articles.

--

--

Ajay Kumar Arya

IITian and Physics Teacher. Here to absorb and share actionable ideas.