How I use Fantastical on a daily basis across Mac, iPhone and iPad

Simon Theakston
Mac O’Clock
Published in
7 min readAug 16, 2023

--

Fantastical on the iPad (image courtesy of flexibits.com)

Developer: Flexibits
Website: https://flexibits.com/fantastical
Price: Free with a subscription tier starting at £5/month

Fantastical has been a controversial/groundbreaking app, depending on your point of view, since it started charging a subscription back in 2020.

It split the Mac community into two parts: those people who couldn’t fathom paying for a calendar and those who were happy to pay for what they considered a best-in-breed app that was essential to their daily work.

Three years later, they’ve repeated the trick by increasing that subscription by nearly 50% which has caused people (myself included) to evaluate just how much value they’re getting from their subscription.

I have until the end of the year (when my subscription will renew at the increased price) to answer that question. This article is partly written to justify my original decision to pay for a calendar and also to help me understand whether the increased subscription of £5/month will be of value to me.

So why am I paying for a calendar?

Let’s address the elephant in the room, first. There are a host of calendar apps on the App Store — in fact, your Mac device…

--

--

Simon Theakston
Mac O’Clock

I write about the skills, growth and businesses that I'm building. And the technology that is supporting me in getting there.