How to Move Your Digital Brain From Notion to Reminders

I used Notion as a project management system but replaced it with Apple’s Reminders. Here’s how you can, too.

Justin Cox
Mac O’Clock
Published in
4 min readSep 6, 2022

--

Photo by Ryu Orn on Unsplash

When I launched my freelance writing career, I needed a flexible project management system to keep me on task. Unable to find exactly what I wanted on the market, I customized Notion to fit my needs. As I transitioned back to working for someone else, I wondered if there was a better alternative to manage my writing projects. Enter Reminders.

I needed to accomplish a few things in my move from Notion to Reminders:

  1. Maintain an ongoing list of writing deadlines.
  2. Capture ideas for posts.
  3. Quickly add new items for future newsletters.

Reminders by itself is a solid to-do list app. In recent years, Apple added tagging support and smart lists to organize items easily. However, “off-the-shelf” Reminders didn’t fulfill all of my needs. Thankfully, Reminders fully integrates with Shortcuts turning the stock app into a project management powerhouse.

Writing Deadlines

I mainly used Notion to track all of my ongoing writing projects. Staying on top of upcoming newsletters and Write Now…

--

--

Justin Cox
Mac O’Clock

I help writers and nonprofits grow. Editor of The Writing Cooperative. Contact at JustinCox.com