How to reinstall Bootcamp drivers while in Windows

Fixing your OS boot problem

Bailey McKelway
Mac O’Clock
2 min readDec 7, 2019

--

Recently, my MacBook was only booting into my Bootcamp Windows OS. Even while restarting and holding down OPTION the disk selection wouldn’t pop up. All I would get is the dreaded black screen of death.

Now, most of the time if this happens all you have to do is reset the NVRAM. (Which stands for non-volatile random access memory)

  • This is done by shutting down your Mac.
  • Powering it back on.
  • And then immediately pressing OPTION + COMMAND + R + P and holding until you see the Apple logo.

I tried the NVRAM and every other startup I could think of but still nothing.

However, I did notice that while in Windows I didn’t have my Bootcamp Manager icon in the toolbar, which should be there. This means I needed to update the drivers for Bootcamp.

The way I did that is using Brigadier (a download can be found at the link below):

https://github.com/timsutton/brigadier]

Brigadier is a Python script that will download and install the proper drivers for Bootcamp. The cool thing about it is it will automatically recognize what computer you are using and download the proper version of Bootcamp. Just run the file, once it finishes creating a new folder hit enter.

And that's it!

Once I had the driver installed I was able to select my Mac drive to startup and everything worked seamlessly.

--

--