How to Set Up Your Mac for Maximum Productivity

A step-by-step guide that can save you 5 hours a week

Ellane W
Mac O’Clock

--

Mac computer with iPhone
Photographer: Daniel Korpai | Source: Unsplash

I’ve set up at least fourteen Macs over the past 25 years, and each time feels as magical as the first. I still feel a sense of wonder, of quiet anticipation, and of being part of something truly remarkable. There’s nothing like opening a new computer and feeling it hum to life for the very first time!

The things I put in place when setting up a new Mac have a significant impact on my productivity. I estimate these options, apps, and practices save me close to an hour a day, or five hours a week. That’s five more hours to create, write, play, or sleep.

For perspective, I’m a solopreneur graphic designer in my own educational publishing company, who’s responsible for editing, customer service, marketing, and maintaining a website. I also teach online part-time. Minimalism calls my name, but I love variety, so I’m still wrestling with the whole app-clutter concept.

My gear:

  • 27 inch iMac (rarely used these days)
  • 15 inch MacBook Pro 2019 (the workhorse)
  • iPhone X (upgraded every 3 years, give or take)
  • iPad Pro 9.7 inch with Smart Keyboard and Apple Pencil 1st gen (I love this size for travelling)

--

--

Ellane W
Mac O’Clock

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans