APPLE SILICON

I bought a MacBook Air on MacBook Pro Launch Day

Why I didn’t buy the new MacBook Pro after waiting over a year for it to ship

Dan Hansen
Mac O’Clock
Published in
5 min readOct 20, 2021

--

M1 MacBook Pro
Image courtesy of author

I’ve been looking forward to the launch of the 14-inch MacBook Pro for almost two years. Ever since reading MacRumors’ report on an investor note from Apple analyst Ming-Chi Kuo which mentioned that Apple was working on a 14.1-inch MacBook Pro with a mini-LED display. Now, after Apple finally unveiled the laptop I’ve been impatiently waiting for, I went and bought an M1 MacBook Air instead.

Don’t misunderstand. I didn’t somehow forget about the “Unleashed” event. I watched the whole thing, excitement growing as I sat through the “Apple Sound Effects Song”, Tim Cook’s introduction, and announcements for Apple Music, Homepod Mini, and AirPods. Then at the fourteen-minute mark, it was back to Tim for confirmation that the Mac’s transition to Apple silicon is still on track to be completed in two years, followed by VP of Hardware Engineering, John Ternus, stating what we all already knew, that Apple was “completely reimagining MacBook Pro”.

The reveal started by announcing a new M-series chip, the M1 Pro. After months and months of speculation that this new chip would be named M1X, I would have been surprised by the “Pro” moniker except…

--

--