I was wrong about Mac Studio and here is how

When you consider whether to buy Mac Studio, you are not comparing only the higher performance, but also that it is silent even under full load, and has better power efficiency. Here is why I think there is only one basic configuration that is worth the money.

Jakub Jirak
Mac O’Clock
Published in
4 min readApr 11, 2022

--

I covered mostly the performance in my previous article, which was not as great as one could expect right after Apple’s conference.

Benefits of its performance are linked to what you need to do with Apple Studio. For video editing, it is the right device for you. With 3D modeling, it varies. It will be suitable for you in a maxed-out M1 Ultra configuration, but it will not be worth the money.

When we think about Mac Studio in the way Apple wants, that is not from the performance perspective but the power efficiency perspective, we will see a great device with ultimate power with extremely low power consumption. Still, when I try to count the power consumption of my main setup compared to Mac Studios, I cannot find an optimal configuration that will provide me with the same performance. When I…

--

--

Jakub Jirak
Mac O’Clock

Principal Software Engineer & Content creator | Writing about Technology, Apple, and Innovations. | Proud editor of Mac O'Clock.