iPad for a college student— here’s why it’s an excellent idea.

Pawel Szydlowski
Mac O’Clock
Published in
3 min readJul 8, 2021

--

Source: thecollegeroute.com

As a student of industrial mathematics, I was sure that amount of paper notes taken during 4 years of college would be terrifying. And I wasn't wrong, every few weeks I was purchasing multiple packs of A4 notebooks. It wasn't very expensive, but started to cause a back pain problem, and sometimes I was forgetting to pack my notebooks for a specific day of the week of classes.

I was looking at my college friend using a Microsoft Surface Pro and a stylus, and become jealous. Once I got notes off him in a nicely exported PDF and I made up mind.

I must have a tablet with a stylus for note-taking! No more paper notebooks.

In 2016, I decided to purchase a refurbished iPad Pro 9.7 directly from Apple and a barely used second hand Apple Pencil.

Let's do the maths:

  • Refurbished 9.7-inch iPad Pro Wi-Fi 32GB Silver for 529euros
  • used Apple Pencil for 80 euros
  • GoodNotes app for 9 euros
  • Case for iPad for 20 euros

Over all, I spend 638 euros. Is it a lot? For one time purchase it is, but not if used long term.

--

--

Pawel Szydlowski
Mac O’Clock

Mobile Developer, R&D Engineer and Mathematician. Polish🇵🇱, lived in Ireland and Netherlands. Writing about technology, mindfulness, healthy lifestyle & news.