iPad Pro Magic Keyboard Review: My Unpopular Opinion

Nathan Scarbrough
Mac O’Clock
Published in
7 min readApr 30, 2020

Let’s start this one off by getting something out of the way: I have an obsession with the iPad Pro. I think that it is truly one of the greatest tech products that have ever been made. Not only is it an extremely capable device, but it is also an absolute blast to use. Everything from gaming to content consumption to taking notes is just bliss on the device. However, in all of its glory, the iPad Pro has never felt like a primary device. It has always felt like a luxurious sidekick.

This was all supposed to change when Apple released the Magic Keyboard for iPad Pro. The idea is that with the addition of the trackpad, your Pro could finally be that laptop replacement that you have been searching for. So… Does it get the job done? Let’s find out.

I received the keyboard in the mail last Thursday, and I had the opportunity to get to know it over the course of the week. I was incredibly excited because most of the major tech reviewers on YouTube have been hyping it up. And I can say that, for the most part, what they have been saying is correct. However, I have had a slightly different experience with the device. Specifically, there have been a few positives and negatives in my experience that I haven’t seen anyone talk about yet. So, that’s why I’m throwing my thoughts in.

I want to start with the positives because there are A LOT of them. The Magic Keyboard is an elegantly designed product. For starters, the floating display is one of the most futuristic-looking things that I’ve seen to date. With the Pro being a near bezel-less device, it is almost surreal looking at it sitting magnetically connected to the keyboard. This brings me to the first point.

There’s a certain cool factor that comes with owning the iPad Pro. I’ve had people in college classes, coffee shops, and even family gatherings amazed by the design of the iPad. But this keyboard just kicks that cool factor up a notch. When I showed my sister for the first time what the iPad looked like attached to it, you would have thought that Apple had invented fire. She was completely and totally mesmerized by the product. So, if you’re someone who likes to wow people with tech, stop reading and go buy the keyboard. If not, let’s continue.

Now that we’ve got looks out of the way, let’s talk about the usability of the thing. My favorite feature of the new keyboard is absolutely the trackpad. Although it is small, this thing is mighty. Its responsiveness is instantaneous, and scrolling on screen is perfectly calibrated. I haven’t run into any issues with needing to move my finger twice just to get to where I needed to go on screen. It is also very pleasing when your cursor lightly illuminates whatever is clickable underneath it. There’s no doubt that the keyboard is a huge win on Apple’s part.

Next, you’ve got to talk about the typing experience. I love that the keyboard is backlit because you can type in any situation without needing to brighten your screen just to figure out where that pesky comma button is. Most importantly, this thing is extremely satisfying to type on. It is not too loud, and the travel on the keys is, and I cannot stress this enough, the travel on the keys is PERFECT. Seriously. I own the 2018 MacBook Pro, and the typing experience is okay. The keys are ridiculously loud, and they barely travel at all. I also own the previous iPad Pro keyboard, and it’s a good experience. But good luck trying to not annoy everyone at Starbucks with how loud and clunky the keys sound. The Magic Keyboard, though? Dare I say again, is PERFECT! I can promise you that you will not be disappointed by typing on this.

Finally, there are two other things that I have loved so far about using this keyboard. First is the USB-C charging port on the side. I know it can’t do anything but charge your device, which does suck. However, not having an awkward cable hanging off the side of your iPad is a welcome addition. Lastly, I love the range of usability with the keyboard. Even though they are smaller and lighter than ever, I still find laptops too cumbersome to use really anywhere but a hard surface. But this… I’ve already used this to type up documents in bed, on a living room chair, and even in a hammock. At certain angles, you’ll find that it’s slightly too top-heavy and will tip over. But for the most part, you’ll never have to worry about your iPad falling. Basically, this thing takes lap-ability to a whole new level.

Enough of the honeymoon phase. Let’s talk about the downfalls of this keyboard. Because trust me, there are some major ones in this list. Let’s get smaller gripes out of the way first. Other than Apple’s own apps, there are still a lot of bugs to be fixed with compatibility. For example. Microsoft word isn’t updated to support the trackpad fully, so I still have to reach up and touch the screen a lot. First world problems, I know. But, it is definitely an issue spread across different apps that should be noted. Obviously, this will be fixed with software patches though, so let’s move on. I wish the left and right arrow keys were bigger like they are on the MacBook Pro Keyboard. There have already been multiple times where I missed the key because my brain, out of habit, tells me that they take up the entire opening. This isn’t a huge deal either. My final small gripe is that the keyboard isn’t waterproof like the previous generation was. I know that in order to have a backlit keyboard, a trackpad, and a superior typing experience, other features had to go. I’ll just miss having that security when I have a coffee on my desk.

There are three MAJOR problems with this keyboard that have kept me from absolutely loving it. The single biggest problem I have with this keyboard has to be the size. When I tell you that this keyboard is heavy, I mean it is THICK. It’s so heavy, in fact, that I almost though Best Buy sent me the wrong thing when I picked the box up off my front porch. To put it in perspective for you, the Magic Keyboard is going to literally double the weight of whatever iPad Pro you are using. This extra bulk means that your iPad is going to be no more portable than your laptop. At that point, what’s even the argument for making the iPad your next computer if you can just get a Mac and not have to worry about the limitations of an iPad? Don’t get me wrong, I love the iPad, and it’s just wonderful using it as an entertainment device detached from the keyboard. The keyboard just makes it so heavy!

The next limitation of this keyboard is the lack of viewing angles that come with it. You can tilt this thing up to 130 degrees which, for the most part, has been more than enough. However, most laptops can lay almost flat. This is great when you are trying to prop your device up with your legs if you are in a recliner or lying in bed. With an iPad keyboard, you actually want it to fold 360 degrees so you can do things like drawing with the Apple Pencil. You can’t though, and that’s a very unfortunate truth.

The last and most notorious limitation that I haven’t heard anyone talk about is the fact that your battery will drain faster if you are using this keyboard. Influencers like MKBHD said that he didn’t notice a major change in battery with the keyboard. You have to keep in mind that these major influencers often times have multiples of the same device. No slight here, that’s just the truth. For those of us that have only one iPad, battery health is a major factor. As your devices battery ages with use, extra accessories will affect your battery. Although I haven’t run actual numbers, I can tell you that there is a noticeable change in the battery life of my iPad Pro. I wish that Apple could have traded some of the useless weight in the keyboard for a battery of some sort that could act as a portable charger. I know that would drastically increase the price, it’s just a thought.

Overall, I’d say that I’m more pleased than not with the Magic Keyboard. It is without a doubt, an incredible product. There’s really there’s not much I can fault to the keyboard itself. Most of the blame here just goes to the iPad not being a true laptop replacement yet. But it will get there… In due time.

--

--