iPhone 14 Pro Max Review From Ex-iPhone XR User: A Worthy of an Upgrade?

How much difference does this iPhone 14 Pro Max compare to iPhone XR?

Christopher Reno Budiman
Mac O’Clock
Published in
10 min readSep 28, 2022

--

The new iPhone 14 Series has been released and blows many people's minds. After using an iPhone XR for almost four years, I decided this was the right time to upgrade. Initially, I thought of upgrading to either iPhone 14 or iPhone 14 Plus, but considering the new features introduced on iPhone 14 Pro and Pro Max, I decided to spend my hard-earning cash on the iPhone 14 Pro Max. After over a week of use, here are my verdicts:

Design and built quality

The iPhone 14 Pro Max and iPhone XR has different design language. From a rounded-shaped edge to a boxy-liked shape like iPhone 5, it certainly feels different. And with the apparent difference, the iPhone 14 Pro Max has a larger 6.7-inch screen display compared to a 6.1-inch, which is the same as the iPhone 14 Pro. I decided to go for this larger screen size as I use my iPhone a lot for media consumption and productivity, so it does not give me any eye sore.

The iPhone XR has an aluminum frame, while the iPhone 14 Pro Max has a stainless-steel frame, which gives you more durability and a premium-like feel. However, I noticed that stainless steel picks up fingerprints…

--

--

Christopher Reno Budiman
Mac O’Clock

Explorer | Writer | Entrepreneur-minded IG: @christopherreno LinkedIn: Christopher Reno Budiman. Business inquiries: chrisbudiman@outlook.com