Is the Microsoft Surface Laptop 4 Better Than the M1 MacBook Air?

The battle begins here!

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock

--

Image courtesy of author

This blog is sponsored by Mailbird. Check out their brilliant email client for Windows (and, soon, the Mac!), by starting your 14-day free trial, now.

I’ve had the Microsoft Surface Laptop 4 for nearly two months.

In that time, I’ve attempted to use it as often as possible in order to pitch it against what is, in my mind, its nearest macOS-based rival: the M1 MacBook Air.

I’ve not exactly been shy about my thoughts on the latter. I’ve described it as the best laptop I’ve ever owned — because it is.

That begs the question: how does the Microsoft Surface Laptop 4 compare?

Here are my initial thoughts on the key points.

Design

I was pleasantly surprised when I retrieved the Surface Laptop 4 from its MacBook-like packaging.

This is entirely unfair; I’m aware that there are many lovely Windows laptops out there that benefit from the…

--

--

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock

Tech reviewer. Join my newsletter list for a weekly behind-the-scenes video of a tech content creator! ⬇️ https://markellisreviews.ck.page/newsletter