M4 iPad Pro: Don’t Waste Your Money!

Alex Gear & Tech Reviews
Mac O’Clock
Published in
3 min readMar 29, 2024

If you are you thinking about getting the latest iPad Pro, and before you rush out and buy it, let’s take a closer look to see if it’s really worth the upgrade.

Image courtesy of the author

In this article, I’ll share some insights from my experience with the M1 and M2 iPad Pros to help you decide if the M4 Pro is right for you, and how to avoid getting caught up in the marketing hype.

Who Needs the M4 iPad Pro?

There are definitely people who can benefit from the extra power of the M4 iPad Pro, but for many users, it might be overkill. I realized that there are many powerful Pro apps out there that I wasn’t even using! However, if you’re a professional content creator, engineer, architect, or musician who needs the most powerful tablet on the market, then the M4 Pro could be a great choice.

Image courtesy of the author

Alternatives and Saving Money

Here are some things to consider to save money and get the iPad Pro that best suits your needs:

Size: The M4 will likely come in 11-inch and 13-inch models. The big news is likely the OLED display coming to both sizes.

Storage: The base storage will probably be 256GB, but there could be options up to 2TB. Unless you need a ton of local storage, consider using an external SSD for large files.

Memory: The M4 Pro will likely start with 8GB of RAM and go up to 16GB or even 24GB. For most users, 8GB is plenty. If you’re a pro user working with huge files, then 16GB might be helpful, but the difference may not be huge for everyday tasks.

M4 iPad Pro vs M1/M2 iPad Air

I actually use the M1 iPad Air for many tasks because it’s lighter, thinner, and much cheaper than the iPad Pro. It handles most everyday tasks I throw at it with ease. Consider the iPad Air as a great alternative to the Pro model.

Images courtesy of the author

Wait for Reviews

Don’t base your decision on hype and leaks! Wait for real reviews to come out before you buy. There may be some surprises from Apple that we don’t know about yet!

Final Thoughts

The M4 iPad Pro is likely going to be a powerful device, but for many users, it may not be necessary. Carefully consider your needs and avoid getting caught up in the marketing hype. There are ways to save money and still get a great iPad that meets your needs.

I’m excited to see the M4 iPad Pro, but I’m going to be very careful about the specs I choose. Unless Apple surprises us all, I’ll probably stick with the base model.

My M1 vs M2 iPad Pro review is available here and I will be sharing my long-term review of the M4 iPad Pro as soon as I get my hands on it!

--

--