Mac Studio — What Is Such a Powerful Device Actually Good For?

Pushing the boundaries of performance and virtualization

Jakub Jirak
Mac O’Clock

--

Here is the image showcasing the tech office setup with a Windows Dev Kit, an Apple Mac Mini, and an Apple Mac Studio. The setup includes a central server managing 12 remote stations in a virtualization environment. The office is designed to reflect a modern and professional atmosphere with advanced technology integration. Source: DALL-E 3

The truth is that I have been puzzling over this myself for a long time, but by the time I got to the Mac Studio with M1 Ultra in a very high configuration, none of the applications was so demanding to take full advantage of the potential of this device, except for one use case, which I will bring you closer in the article.

Remember when I wrote articles about the Microsoft Volterra project? That is, about the Windows dev kit for ARM. So now you come back to it: many of you must have taken notice and wondered why he was talking about a Microsoft product when he lured us to Apple, but all will soon be explained.

The moment I had a chance to try this remarkable box, I quickly found out that if you buy a Mac mini with some Apple Silicon chip, you will have a more powerful machine than this dev kit, plus a full macOS operating system and a lot of applications either native or translated with Rosetta 2. So, it made maximum sense to me to use the Mac mini for Windows development for ARM.

--

--

Jakub Jirak
Mac O’Clock

Content creator | Cat dad | Writing about Technology, Apple, and Innovations. | Proud editor of Mac O'Clock. | Support me at https://ko-fi.com/jakubjirak