MacBook Pro with M2 Pro & M2 Max: Worth the upgrade?

Aamer Seth
Mac O’Clock
Published in
3 min readJan 23, 2023

--

Source: Apple Newsroom

As Apple does every year, they have released the 2023 MacBook Pro. The MacBook Pro is one of the most useful tool, and as they are marketed towards creators, and it is safe to say that creators love their MacBook Pro.

Personally, I don’t think I could live without mine. I’ve had my MacBook Pro for about a year now, and there is not a single thing that I throw at it, that it cannot do. From my Photo and Video editing projects, not once have I had the MacBook hiccup, or be too slow. And even when I am relaxing, watching Netflix, video calling with friends, the MacBook Pro has been able to keep up with an amazing screen, great-sounding speakers and a long battery life which I have come to take for granted.

Now, with the updated MacBook Pro’s out with the new M2 Pro and M2 Max chips, it begs the question: Are they worth the upgrade?

So, in order to answer this, we have to go into what is new with the 2023 MacBook Pro.

As previously mentioned, the MacBook Pro’s have been updated with new chips. The first one is the M2 Pro, which is even more powerful than the already insanely powerful M1 Pro. The M2 Pro has a few more cores when it comes to its CPU and GPU, overall making it 20% faster than the M1 Pro and 50% faster than the Intel i9 MacBook Pro. So, this is a huge jump from the…

--

--

Aamer Seth
Mac O’Clock

A young University student very curious about many things and here to share his thinking. Interested in Photography, Technology and sharing stories.