My New 2024 iPad Is A 2022 iPad Pro

Jonathan Kim
Mac O’Clock
Published in
11 min readJun 19, 2024

--

Why I went back…to the Future!

My iPad Pro’s camera bump lets you know it’s not the M4 iPad Pro (image: author)

So I finally made my decision on what iPad to buy in 2024, a fun but somewhat torturous process that I’ve written two posts about. After months of deliberation, I decided to buy a purple M2 11” iPad Air with 256GB of storage, which cost $700 before tax. But a week later, I returned my iPad Air to the Apple Store…because I had just bought an M2 iPad Pro with 256GB on sale for $700 at Best Buy. After all my research, prioritizing, evaluating, second-guessing, and waiting, my new iPad in 2024 is one that first sold in 2022. And I’m feeling like I definitely made the right decision, even though the reasons for my eventual decision came as a surprise even to myself.

But when I initially decided on the M2 iPad Air, I was also pretty confident about that decision as well. There was no way that I could justify the M4 iPad Pro both in terms of price and capability, even though I was tempted by its dual OLED screen and how mindbogglingly thin and light it is. But I’m not a power user who could make use of the M4, and I could buy an iPad Air and a keyboard case for hundreds less than a 256GB M4 iPad Pro alone. And while the OLED screen is terrific, I don’t spend enough time watching HDR content or professionally editing photos or video on an iPad that I could talk myself into one.

--

--

Jonathan Kim
Mac O’Clock

Used to be a film critic, now writes about tech (mostly Apple), and sometimes woodworking