My Reluctant iPhone 12 Purchase

Alongside my thoughts on it.

Akshay Gajria
Mac O’Clock

--

Story Time

When Apple announced the new 12 series, like every year I had the familiar yearning to buy it. I looked at my iPhone X. It was running fine. In the two and a half years I’d owned it, it had picked up a few quirks, like the Face ID flaw (it stopped working anytime it didn’t see my face and I had to give the phone a restart to get it to work. Living with a mask on, this happened at least 4 or 5 times a day.) and the phone battery life had slimmed down. But it wasn’t something I couldn’t live with and I didn’t really need, need a new phone. I spent a good month thinking about it and came to the decision to stick with my iPhone X for another year. iPhone 13 (or whatever it’s called) would be it.

But that all changed when I picked up my X last Monday morning from it’s charging pad. Did the screen always pop out so much? I pulled the phone out of my case and from the left side, the phone screen had almost popped out — out enough that I could see the black strands of adhesive holding the frame and screen together and for the first time, I saw the internals of my phone. I’d seen the insides of an iPhone online but never in person. I quickly pushed the screen down and with a pop, it went back in. But it was still bulging out, slightly.

I did a quick search online to find that this is a common occurrence. It’s usually caused by a bloated battery. I booked an appointment with the Apple Store for the next day, avoided keeping…

--

--