Should I upgrade my iPhone X to 11?

Mehmet
3 min readSep 11, 2019
iPhone 7, X and 11. The main change is camera and secondly, glass surface.

As I wrote in my previous articles, Apple can’t release a new product that solves a problem except Airpods in very near past. The last Apple Event didn’t surprise me. They released a couple of new shiny products, but which of them solve a significant problem that an Apple user or a mobile device user has? Before, opening devices by using fingerprint was a good solution for preventing password entry, then face recognition was a good solution for not recognizing fingerprint and also a smaller size device but the same size screen. But with just a square-shaped camera is not enough to upgrade to iPhone 11.

What will be next? Will they turn stereo speakers edges into the screen and start “Wow we have a full-screen front!” Neither a new camera with extra-wide capabilities nor the speed or a full screen is solving any problems.

Trying to sell a device by changing color or changing partial design of a product such as camera shape can be a marketing technique, but in my opinion, unless they force users to switch to new models by “slowing down” iOS, Apple won’t continue its sales success.

Previously, Apple was selling its high-end models, and they were getting the highest profit in the market. Still, they have the highest, but recently iPhone XR is a trending device that is a low-end product. Even a low-end product, it’s the most logical product in Apple’s iPhone product range. Additionally, Apple is moving rapidly to pets/dogs in BCG’s Growth Share Matrix.

The second evidence that Apple is moving to pets/dogspart is pricing of Apple TV+. The price is nearly half price of Netflix. At first Apple was getting averagely $15 for each film sold on iTunes. Now offering a very low price to compete with Netflix. You can say “You always criticize Apple. When they don’t have such a service you ask why they don’t have it. Then after they announce it you criticize Apple according to profitability.” Yes, I criticize, because if they stopped getting too much profits from films on iTunes, they wouldn’t try their chance with such a low price and profit.

Source: BCG.

The only good thing is Apple Arcade, which makes me happy because of allowing my kids to play with ad-free games securely. Nowadays one of the biggest problems for using these devices is the security of kids. The games connect silly apps or videos on youtube which are not suitable for them, and I can’t prevent this problem. Even I pay tens of dollars for a game suddenly they see a game from a friend’s device and asks to get it. I wish Apple will release good games for all age groups and protect kids from silly apps, videos, and web sites.

Apple has written the history of success near the past, and inspired lots of entrepreneurs, but the upslope curve seems to be flattening. As they fail to release new products, I and people like me will write articles about this fall of Apple.

My previous articles:

Why a trillion dollar Apple sucks on brand loyalty?

Apple’s little big success: “AirPods”

Why I switched to Spotify

--

--