No Reason to Upgrade: The M1 Pro MacBook Pro Still Rocks in 2024

Why replace what isn’t broken?

Michael Swengel
Mac O’Clock

--

Image provided by the author

Being a fan of tech and immersed in the industry, it’s a constant struggle for me to not want to upgrade my devices with each new release. With the launch of the M3-powered 14-inch and 16-inch MacBook Pros, the struggle is real.

I bought my 14-inch M1 Pro MacBook Pro toward the end of 2022, knowing full well that the M2 machines were likely just around the corner. I bought the machine I needed at the time I needed it. And looking back, I don’t regret that decision.

But now that the M3 models have been released, I’ve wondered if it might be time to upgrade.

Should I? Should you?

How I use my MacBook

While my Mac isn’t my only laptop, it is the primary workhorse of my content creation efforts. I use it to edit nearly every video I shoot, and it’s the ideal machine to use for writing on the go due to its portability.

Even so, I’m hardly what one might consider to be a “power” user. I do edit 4K video with Premiere Pro, and I frequently find myself using After Effects and Audition. When I use Blender, I typically do so on my Dell XPS which has an RTX 4060, but even so, the MacBook does just fine for general edits, or…

--

--

Michael Swengel
Mac O’Clock

11+ years experience working in the IT field. Loves writing about Apple, Artificial Intelligence, Microsoft and other relevant tech and productivity topics.