Pros and Cons of Using an iPad For University Lectures

Doruk Unal
Mac O’Clock
Published in
4 min readJun 22, 2020

First thing first, you should know that I am not an Apple fanboy. In fact, if there was any better competitor I would probably choose the other brand because I do not like the idea of buying stuff individually for what I already bought in the first place. I have been using an iPad with the GoodNotes app as a multifunctional device (but mostly for note-taking) in lectures for 6 months and here is the list of advantages and disadvantages of using an iPad for lessons.

An iPad survived for 6 months

Pros

Let’s talk about the good stuff first. Of course, there are more advantages to use an iPad which is why I chose to buy one. Here is the list:

1- One device for all:

Tablet is basically a computer and like computers, it is a device with many functions. I can create a notepad and take notes of the lesson while at the same time can read coursebook, highlight important parts and take notes on the book as well. So rather than having all course materials physically with me, I need just one device for all.

2- Easy note-taking experience:

So it is almost the same as having materials physically but more! Because it is much easier. First, writing on a tablet does not force my hand after hours of writing. Also, there are great features such as the ability to cut and paste from a source, search words in what you wrote, drawing shapes and etc. You may find all the features that the app provides here.

3- Share by one click:

Alright, a tablet has everything that I need but it doesn’t mean these things only have to be on your tablet. These devices can connect, by just one touch of a button (or should I say screen) I may share all my files with different devices. This let me have the ability to change or use a document wherever I am. Additionally, I may send or receive notes and sources between my friends without photocopy.

A cut from one of my notes

Cons

Of course nothing is perfect, and here is why tablets are also:

1- It is not free and needs good take care:

Although, you save money for not buying notebooks and hard copies of books, having an iPad is not free. Right now, the cheapest choice is 310 US$ 8th generation iPad and 90 US$ Apple pencil (with a total of 30 US$ education discount) and you would probably buy a note-taking app since existed Note app and other free apps on AppStore is not so good. Additionally, you might wanna get a case for your Apple Pencil and iPad since both are very fragile. Even with one short distance drop, the screen might shatter or stylus might break. There are some alternatives to Apple, especially Samsung, but existing apps (except Noteshelf) are not as good as GoodNotes or Notability.

2- Not good for a long time use:

Even though I don’t have sweaty hands after some time screen and pencil become stained. This makes the surface of the screen coarse. Now, there are some screen protectors that change the surface structure more like paper to avoid stain and glass feeling such as Paperlike but again these are not free as well. Additionally, it changes the color dynamics of the screen and loses effect after time. So, in my opinion, the best solution is to clean the screen and pencil frequently.

3- Battery issues:

Apple is about software and optimization especially with the new iPadOS, Apple tablets reached a new stage. I definitely do not have issues with the battery life of my iPad, it usually stands for 2 full day usage but there is one downside and that is charging time. From 0 to 100 it takes 4 to 4.5 hours to charge, 4.5 hours! If the tablet is low on battery I need to carry my charger with me and find a place near a power outlet to do my job and when I use the tablet while plugged in it almost doesn’t charge at all. These devices must support fast charging up to 30W or even more.

So here is my final verdict:

If you usually carry and use your coursebook, draw figures in class, need to share files frequently, have digital sources for courses such as lecture notes, and don’t mind looking to a screen for hours, using a tablet would be beneficial. However, if you only take notes in class, I think you don’t need to spend extra money on a tablet and a stylus.

--

--