Reinstalling the Python machine learning environment in my Mac

That is conda and python 3.7, tensorflow, keras, numpy, pandas, jupyter, sklearn etc.

Kyriakos Chatzidimitriou
Mac O’Clock

--

Photo by Wesson Wang on Unsplash

Something went wrong with my previous installation of Anaconda on an upgrade and I decided to reinstall it. Debugging it, would have probably taken more time (if possible at all), while a fresh start is always welcome as long as your code and data are secure. And the Anaconda installation is totally and easily replaceable. So straight to the steps:

Step 1: I removed my old installation

  • The Anaconda folder was in ~/anaconda so I did a rm -rf anaconda3 while in my home folder.
  • I also removed an entry in my ~/.zshrc

Step 2: I installed Anaconda again

  • Downloaded and run the installer for Python 3.7
  • Followed the standard, as is installation. This would also install Anaconda paths on my zsh profile. And indeed it did (tail -n 20 ~/.zshrc):

--

--

Kyriakos Chatzidimitriou
Mac O’Clock

Software, Systems, and Machine Learning Engineer — MERN and MEAN JS stacks, Python & R for ML