SourSource: Youtube/JonathanMorrison

Should the iPad Pro run MacOS?

Especially the M1 Powered iPads.

Akshay Gajria
Mac O’Clock
Published in
9 min readMay 24, 2021

--

With the M1 iPad Pro out now, the biggest question is this: Will it run MacOS? Will Apple bring down the walls around iOS (iPadOS now) and allow developers to just dual boot into MacOS. It has the Mac hardware, right? It even has enough RAM now. What’s really stopping Apple from running MacOS on an iPad?

I’ve been using an iPad Pro 12.9" from 2018 as my main computer for couple of years now and I have a few thoughts. I’ll be breaking it down into these:

1. User Interface
2. Product Category
3. Legacy

1. User Interface:

The iPad software is based on iOS, which is a touch-first interface. Over the years, keyboard and mouse support have been added to the iPad, with Apple selling their most popular Magic Keyboard attachment as well. And yet, the iPad still retains the touch first treatment. The mouse pointer on the iPad is an excellent case in point: It’s less of a cursor and more of a precise finger pointer. It’s different, but perfectly suitable for the iPad interface.

(Honestly, when I use my MacBook, I find it utterly confusing when the mouse pointer does not snap into place on an app icon.)

With MacOS 11’s makeover, many have commented on how the icons have grown bigger…

--

--