Streamlining File Management on the iPad

A practical experience-based guide to using the Files app effectively.

Tobias Hedtke
Mac O’Clock

--

Image courtesy of the author.
Image courtesy of the author.

The iPad’s Files app raises a lot of controversy among Apple users, and since WWDC 2024 did not bring any new features, design, or UI changes, I figured it would be an excellent time to turn the spotlight on Files.

Because I think Files is better than its reputation.

As a CTO of a startup company, the iPad is my main workhorse. Office work and file management take up significant parts of my work days, which all happen in the Files app.

Therefore, this article is dedicated to 12 tips and tricks all around the Files app that I learned from my daily work and experience with the iPad, and that accelerated and streamlined my work processes in Files.

Before we get into the specific features of Files, let’s start with…

An overview

When you take your new iPad out of the box, the Files app is, by default, placed in the dock. And that is where I keep it. I always have to have quick access to all of my files; for this purpose, there is no better place than the dock. When you open the Files app, you are presented with the typical app layout that Apple keeps consistently throughout iPadOS — a sidebar to the left…

--

--

Tobias Hedtke
Mac O’Clock

Scientist, entrepreneur, and tech enthusiast from Germany, writing about Apple tech, productivity, and start-up entrepreneurship