Switching to the iPhone 13 mini — 2 Weeks Later

Have my battery concerns been answered?

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock

--

Image courtesy of author

The iPhone 13 Pro and Pro Max didn’t captivate me enough to pull the trigger on one of Apple’s most expensive smartphones. The iPhone 13 mini was therefore my self-engineered ‘interesting’ iPhone upgrade.

I’m happy to say that this strategy worked, brilliantly. I’ve not talked as animatedly about an iPhone for years as I have done about the iPhone 13 mini.

But I had two key concerns about this phone. The first was the battery life (the iPhone 12 mini was a notoriously poor performer in that regard), and the second was the physical size of the device.

Would it be too small? Would it get me through a day?

Here’s what I’ve learned.

The battery

According to iOS, in the last ten days, I’ve averaged three hours, 17 minutes of screen on time and four hours, 12 minutes of screen off time.

--

--

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock

Tech reviewer. Join my newsletter list for a weekly behind-the-scenes video of a tech content creator! ⬇️ https://markellisreviews.ck.page/newsletter