The first OSX apps to be downloaded onto my new MacBook Pro

Simon Theakston
Mac O’Clock
Published in
8 min readOct 5, 2022

--

Photo by Ales Nesetril on Unsplash

With a new job comes a new laptop and, this week, I’m excited to say that I’ve finally leapt into Apple Silicon by taking delivery of a 14" MacBook Pro.

Setting up new Apple products has got considerably easier over the last few years. Aside from the ability to restore Time Machine Backups, we now have a Migration Tool to allow customers to replicate the configuration of their old machine onto their new machine with just a few clicks of the mouse.

I’m still old-school when it comes to setting up new machines, though. I enjoy the process of manually downloading my apps, re-configuring my settings and filtering the files that I copy across as it allows me to get rid of all of the junk that I wasn’t using on my old laptop.

Having said that, though, the first things that get downloaded tend to be the most important to me. The list below are the apps that I continue to use on a day-to-day basis during my work day

Dashlane

It’s perhaps no surprise that the first app on my new laptop was a password manager. After all, I was going to need passwords to log in to accounts for many of the subsequent apps that were installed.

I’ve been using Dashlane since my email got hacked several years back. Over that time, I’ve stored…

--

--

Simon Theakston
Mac O’Clock

I write about the skills, growth and businesses that I'm building. And the technology that is supporting me in getting there.