The Free iOS 16 Lock Screen Text Widget That Saved My iPhone

Why on earth hasn’t Apple baked this one in?

Ellane W
Mac O’Clock

--

Open hand with black iPhone, showing the lock screen
Photo used under license to Mockuuups. Lock Screen image added by Author.

Expect the best, prepare for the worst. That’s my motto.

It’s why I’ve always had text on my iPhone lock screen with an alternate phone number on it, and my email address. An honest person will have immediate access to my contact details, and can (in theory) quickly get my phone back to me.

Why Not Just Use Apple’s Medical ID?

Apple’s Medical ID can do a similar job, yes, but whoever picks up your phone has to know where to look for it, and go through several steps to get there.

Why not make it easy for honest but clueless folks to return your expensive device, while keeping them in the dark about your blood type, and the names and phone numbers of your nearest and dearest?

How to Get Text Onto Your Lock Screen

I’ve used a couple of methods over the years to get my details onto the lock screen. Skip the first unless you want ultimate control over styling your text, and you don’t mind missing out on easily changeable lock screen images.

The second method (using a lock screen widget), is the clear winner for ease of use, subtlety, and flexibility.

--

--

Ellane W
Mac O’Clock

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans