The Immersive Hype Is Real

My thoughts on trying the Apple Vision Pro at an Apple Store demo.

Paul Alvarez
Mac O’Clock

--

Booking a Apple Visio Pro demo. Source: apple.com

After listening to all of my favorite tech podcasters give their first impressions of the Apple Vision Pro, I thought I would follow what John Siracusa did on ATP and schedule a demo at my local Apple Store. My local Apple store is about 25–30 minutes from me, depending on traffic, so it isn’t a quick trip.

I will usually only go to the Apple store if it is on the way to do something else, but I made an exception this time. Since the announcement, I have not been totally sold on Apple’s vision (sorry, had to), with the Apple Vision Pro. It seemed a bit cheesy and not fully fleshed out on what it will be used for.

After all of the reviews and listening to a ton of people talk about their hands-on experience, I still don’t know if that vision I was looking for has been completely answered. What I did gather from all of the talk about this device is that it is super cool and unlike any headset or computer many have used before.

So I decided I wanted to try it out for myself without having to drop thirty-five hundred dollars. Apple offers free demos of the Apple Vision Pro, so I jumped on the Apple Store app and was able to schedule the earliest appointment available, 10:30 AM. I assumed it wasn’t going to be super…

--

--

Paul Alvarez
Mac O’Clock

Full-time job in IT, all the time husband, and Dad to two son and two cats. I also like to write.