The Sad Demise of the iPhone mini

The best iPhone Apple has ever made, is near death.

Paul Alvarez
Mac O’Clock

--

iPhone 12 Mini showing on homescreen on park table with gravel in the background.
Photo by author.

I have been using the iPhone 13 Pro for eight months now, and even though I continue to praise the display and camera on this device, the iPhone Mini lingers in my brain constantly. I am reminded of how amazing the size of the Mini is when I read about Ben Brooks using one in his newsletter and Jason Snell talking about it on his many podcasts; especially Upgrade.

I still believe to this day that it is the most perfect-sized iPhone Apple has ever released. The device is tiny, and the screen size is perfect, providing you the best comfort when reaching all four corners with a single hand. I mentioned this before in another post, but the size of the 12 and 13 Mini screens are slightly larger than the size of the previous iPhone 6 and 7 Plus phones — to this day, this still surprises me.

So with all the rumors continuing to swirl that Apple will release a new iPhone non-Pro Max version of the iPhone 14 but no Mini, it makes me very sad. Even though I currently don’t use it daily as I used to, I still feel incredibly heartbroken that Apple will no longer continue the Mini line shortly.

--

--

Paul Alvarez
Mac O’Clock

Full-time job in IT, all the time husband, and Dad to two son and two cats. I also like to write.